First Post at 5 AM

It’s been almost 2 weeks since my husband Anthony, our 2-year-old son Micah, and I said goodbye to our friends and family and moved to Dubai. Anthony was offered the incredible opportunity to work on the design team for Dubai Parks, the multibillion dollar entertainment area comprised of various theme parks, themed hotels and shopping areas. It’s a once-in-a-lifetime chance opportunity, and we never got to go on a honeymoon, so we figured, why not? And let’s be honest, the tax free income is pretty great too.

At this point, we’ve been here about 10 days, and I think I’ve gone to The Dubai Mall that many times. I would say that after Disneyland, this is my new favorite place in the world. I will probably be writing many many blog posts about The Dubai Mall and its stores, restaurants, entertainment, and people… even the line for the taxi has some interesting talking points.

As the blog title suggests, it’s now after 5 am here in Dubai, and I’m still wide awake. We’re 11 hours ahead of California, so basically my son’s schedule is switched: his body thinks it’s nap time when it’s really bedtime and vice versa. Right now he’s asleep for who knows how long, but I’ve been so used to waking up at a moment’s notice that I find it difficult to fall asleep now. I never even pulled all nighters when I was in college. Not once. And I went to graduate school too. But I’ve seen so many sunrises here. Too many 3 ams and 4 ams. So now here I am, just waiting for that melatonin to kick in. If anyone has any fantastic jet lag solutions that go beyond STAY AWAKE, I’d really appreciate it.

You know how scary toddlers are when you wake them up from their naps.

2 thoughts on “First Post at 5 AM

  1. Pingback: 6 Months Later | Cali 2 Dubai

  2. Cynthia

    Great first blog Laura! Glad you guys got used to the timing and no more jet lag. At least not for a couple weeks 🙂

Leave a Reply

