Week 3 Update

It’s 2:30 in the afternoon, and my son is napping… yes, NAPPING! It took about 2 weeks and so many sleepless nights, but we finally have Micah on a schedule. We have officially overcome jet lag!

As it turns out, all of our friends’ and family’s advice and encouragement was correct – it did get better, all we needed was time.

Micah used to fall asleep at 10 or 11 am and think it was time to sleep for the night (it would be 9 or 10 pm in California), so he would sleep until 5 or 6 pm. I would always sleep with him because I had been up all night too. Then he would fall asleep at midnight or 11 pm, thinking it was nap time, so he would be up at 3 or 4 am, ready for fun and frolic. I was afraid this was going to be an endless cycle and I would be doomed to a nocturnal existence.

When my husband got a couple of days off from work (Muslims were celebrating Eid al-Adha), he was determined to help me get Micah on a schedule. I knew I couldn’t do it without his support, so I was determined to follow whatever plan he had up his sleeve.

His plan? The Mall of the Emirates.

IMG_3836

We took a day and stayed at the mall for a few hours. We left at 10 am, the time when Micah usually falls asleep for the night.

We checked out the indoor ski resort and snow park, the toy store, and Magic Planet, an entertainment area like Chuck E. Cheese on mega steroids. I nearly cried when I saw a Baja Fresh in the food court, where I ordered an amazingly tasty torta, one of my most missed foods from back home.

IMG_3831IMG_3800 IMG_3827IMG_3809IMG_3822

That night, Micah fell asleep at 6 pm and slept the whole night until 6 am. Every day after that he gravitated more and more towards a regular sleeping schedule, including nap times.

To all of our friends and family who listened to me grumble on and on about not getting sleep and wanting to give up and come home, thank you for your support and patience!

Apparently, jet lag can be overcome and who knew a huge mall could help be part of the solution.

One thought on “Week 3 Update

Leave a Reply

