A Scary Halloween Tale

You guys won’t believe what happened to us on Halloween.

OK, perhaps I’m being a tad dramatic. I’ll first reassure everyone that my family & I are all safe and sound but our egos are a little bruised. 🙂

I was looking forward to Halloween for weeks, ever since we reserved Micah’s spot for a trick-or-treating event at the Dubai Mall. We bought Micah a simple vampire costume, and he was definitely the cutest little blood sucker I’ve ever seen:

IMG_4001We arrived at the Caboodle children’s store right at 4 pm and Micah immediately settled in playing with their toys, painting a mask, and decorating his treat bag. Things were hectic because there was lots of people there and the strange store manager kept singing off-key with his karaoke machine, but Micah looked like he was enjoying himself, so we were fine.

                        IMG_3988IMG_3955IMG_4009

After the employees performed a few awkwardly choreographed dances (and the manager kept on regaling us with his ‘stellar’ singing voice), it was finally Micah’s group’s turn to trick-or-treat around the mall.

The first store we go to is an expensive children’s clothing store, and Micah immediately moves away from the group to hide behind a clothing rack. “What’s his deal?” I wonder, and when he finally walks back over to me I realize what his deal was. Or, actually, I could SMELL what his deal was. I quickly whispered to Anthony that we had to find a bathroom to change Micah’s diaper and then we left the group to go take care of business.

I grabbed Micah’s hand as we walked and when he lets go I look down at my hand and I see stuff on it… let’s just say, it isn’t chocolate. Upon closer examination, the contents of Micah’s diaper exploded onto himself – his back, his adorable little vampire costume, his hands, his little white pin-striped pants. Disaster. I take Micah into the bathroom and of course the changing table is occupied, so I had to clean him up in front of the entire women’s restroom and the watchful eyes of one very nosy little boy waiting for his mom. We were stared at a lot, but one woman actually handed me paper towels to help me out, bless her soul.

We did rejoin the group again but missed probably half of the 10 or so stores that were giving out treats.

In the end, we ended up throwing away Micah’s Halloween costume and his fancy pants. They were destroyed, and we don’t have a washer/dryer at the moment to clean them anyway. I brought Micah a change of clothes and he ended up wearing his Batman shirt for the rest of the party.

It certainly made for a memorable Halloween, albeit one that will probably make Micah blush with shame every time he hears it.

Hopefully everyone out there has a wonderful Halloween, and may you have more treats than poop exploding out of your child’s diaper! 😀

One thought on “A Scary Halloween Tale

  1. Pingback: FAQ | Cali 2 Dubai

Leave a Reply

