Cupid’s Delivery

We love it when we receive packages (not hinting, just saying!), and Cupid had a special delivery for us this Valentine’s Day. Anthony’s family sent us a box filled with lots of Valentine’s treats and also some Christmas gifts that didn’t make it out to us in December.

IMG_5052

Micah was so happy to see lots of window cling stickers to decorate our mirror and windows. He loved the ones he got for Christmas, so his Grandma and aunt made sure to send lots more sheets for him to play with. We played with them even today – Micah chooses which sticker he wants, puts it on the window, and then afterwards he puts them all back in the right place. He’s really into puzzles and matching things right now, so these are a fun way for him to pass the time. Micah also received lots of Valentine’s cards and candy and some gifts from his uncle and aunt. He loves his new toy boat & cars that they sent him.

IMG_5057IMG_5079

There were also a few Valentine’s surprises packed for me. 🙂

My favorite mascara is Christian Dior Iconic curling mascara, but over here it’s over $50 at Sephora! Back home it’s only around $25, so I couldn’t bring myself to spend twice as much for it, even if it the best mascara in the world. 🙂 Thankfully, my mother-in-law sent me one, so now I have her to thank for my curled, black, thick eyelashes!

I’m also not into the whole metric system thing, so when it’s time for me to bake/cook, it’s a pain to try to convert cups to milliliters and vice versa – especially since the Ikea out here only offers metric measuring cups. It’s not that big a deal, but it was something that I didn’t want to deal with for 2 years. Anthony’s family helped us out IMG_5061with that little problem and sent me some snazzy Kitchen Aid measuring spoons and cups. IMG_5059Let the exact measuring begin! 😀 I also received a beautiful little Betsey Johnson wristlet from my brother-in-law and sister-in-law. I felt so spoiled. ❤

FYI, Valentine’s Day is indeed recognized out here. There’s a grocery store by our apartment and they had the typical Valentine’s fare – stuffed animals, boxes of chocolates, etc. The florist shop in the same shopping center was also brimming with countless fabulous bouquets and arrangements. I had never seen so many people at the little shop… and now it’s pretty empty again. 😦

It’s funny how something like measuring spoons can get me so excited, but it really is the little things that we miss from back home. In California, I live 10 minutes away from a Sephora and can pick up my favorite mascara for less than $30. But over here, although there are Sephora makeup stores in all the major malls, everything is so much more expensive. No, it wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world to switch to a cheaper mascara, but it’s comforting to see things that we’re familiar with from home. Whether it was wrapped in a box or sent through Skype/Facebook, we felt the California love all the way over here in Dubai. ❤ ❤ ❤

valentine-charlie-brown.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “Cupid’s Delivery

  1. Maria

    I can always feel your excitement & enthusiasm and almost hear your voice, when I read your blogs. Thanks for keeping us in touch with you guys! ❤ Love & miss you!!

Leave a Reply

