Friday Flashback – The Middle East Film and Comic Con

We missed the outrageously huge Comic Con in San Diego this year, but we still attended the Middle East Film & Comic Con (MEFCC) in April at the Dubai World Trade Centre. Since Anthony is all about superheroes (especially Batman) and Star Wars, and I love me some video games, Lord of the Rings, and cute things for Micah’s future room, there was no question that we would check out this event.

IMG_5879

It was absolute madness! We went the first day of the 3-day event and it was packed, of course. Thank goodness Micah napped throughout most of our time there because Anthony & I were able to browse through a lot of areas and take our time without worrying about keeping Micah entertained.

There were a few random celebrity guests, but there were huge lines to meet them, so I guess they’re big[ger] in the Middle East? More power to them!

The hot ticket guests were Gillian Anderson (Scully from X-Files), Hayley Atwell (Agent Carter from the ABC show & Captain America movie), and… wait for it… William freaking Shatner.

There weren’t as many people dressed up in cos-play as I’ve seen at the Anime Expo or Wonder Con (in LA and Anaheim, respectively), but there was still a lot of interesting costumes to see. Can you spot the Riddler walking out of the Star Wars game area?

IMG_5897

It surprised me to see that certain superheroes, films, and characters transcend language, place, and cultures and have such a passionate following in the Middle East. We spotted the U.A.E. division of the Star Wars’ Storm Troopers! 😀 IMG_5884I encouraged Anthony to join, but he thinks the uniforms are too expensive. lol

Anime characters and art were EVERYWHERE too. The amount of anime that I saw in the Artist Alley was comparable to that of the Anime Expo. I’m not familiar with any Anime beyond Sailor Moon, so my efforts to find my sister things from “Attack On Titan” did not work out very well. :/ I didn’t know the characters, so I couldn’t find anything from the show. Good thing we have the biggest comic book store in the UAE a short drive away from us. 😉 More on that another time.

It also didn’t help that my uber-talented artist husband kept giving all of the art the side eye and muttering to me, “I could make something like that. I’ve MADE something like that!” In the end, we only bought a piece for Micah’s room (remember I said I was looking for cute things? 🙂  il_570xN.531278453_55fg

We bought a print that was like the comic strip characters Calvin & Hobbes designed as Hans Solo and Chewbacca from Star Wars. It was like this style, but they’re doing different stuff. 🙂 I absolutely love it! It’s hung up in our apartment in Dubai right now. Can’t wait to bring it back with us to California and put it in Micah’s room in our future home.

There were a few restaurants serving food as well, and we bought some delicious eats from a Canadian restaurant called Maple Leaf. Since then, we’ve had them deliver to us and it’s still just as amazing!

A replica of the Batmobile from “Batman Begins” was also on display:

IMG_5931

How about this? A real life Pac Man game going on. Haha!

IMG_5926

IMG_5945The MECC was quite the crazy experience. We’re glad that we went even though, at the end of it all, we were exhausted from the crowds, sights, and wait times.

To Anthony’s immense happiness, we also ended up taking home this crazy looking porcelain Wolverine… the bowl that he’s holding is supposed to be for candy, but Anthony decided that Wolverine must guard his keys and wallet. (︶︹︺)

We’ll definitely be at the next Middle East Comic Con in April 2016, and hopefully we’ll get even better guests… I’m crossing my fingers for somebody from my favorite show – Buffy the Vampire Slayer!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Friday Flashback – The Middle East Film and Comic Con

Leave a Reply

